Can I Return This?

Holiday gift return guide 2026

Short answer: Get a gift receipt or order number from the giver if you can. Without one, most big stores still take the gift back, but for store credit or a gift card, often at the lowest recent price, and usually with a photo ID. Walmart, Kohl's and Macy's give most 2026 holiday purchases until Jan 31, 2027, and TJ Maxx until Jan 25, 2027 (Feb 4 online). Amazon, Target, Best Buy and Apple haven't posted 2026 holiday dates yet, and Lowe's wants Christmas items back by Dec 25.

Related: holiday return deadlines 2026 · Black Friday & Cyber Monday return deadlines 2026 · return gifts without a receipt (more stores)

Gift returns compared: 11 major stores

From each store's official return policy, checked 2026-10-21. Tap a store for the full gift-return breakdown, deadlines and sources.

StoreWith a gift receiptNo receiptYou getID / limits2026 holiday window
Amazon17-digit order number (packing slip or digital gift receipt) in the Gift Returns CenterAsk the giver; with only a tracking number, contact AmazonAmazon.com Gift CardAmazon account; may ask for photo IDNot posted yet
WalmartExchange, Walmart Gift Card, or credit to the sender's paymentExchange or Walmart Gift Card if refund verification approves; limits applyWalmart Gift CardGovernment photo ID required without a receiptBought Oct 1–Dec 31 → Jan 31, 2027
TargetTarget GiftCard (gift receipt or packing slip)Merchandise return card (stores only); Partner items need proofTarget GiftCard / merchandise return cardGovernment ID required for a merchandise return cardNot posted yet
Best BuyStore credit for the purchase price (in store); mailed gifts credit the buyerStore credit; may be denied or limited; tax not refundedStore creditEmail address may be required; no ID rule statedNot posted yet
CostcoNot covered by Costco's policyNot covered; have the member who bought it return itNot statedNot statedNone stated (most items have no fixed deadline)
Kohl'sExchange within the windowLookup, or Kohl's Merchandise Credit at the lowest 13-week sale priceKohl's Merchandise CreditPhoto ID may be requiredBought Oct 4–Dec 30 → Jan 31, 2027
Macy'sStore credit (gift receipt or registry number)Store credit at the lowest selling price in the last 90 daysStore creditName and address may be requiredBought Oct 5–Dec 31 → Jan 31, 2027
Home DepotStore credit (gift returns go to a store)Store credit at the lowest advertised priceStore creditDriver's license or government photo ID requiredNone stated (holiday decor: 30 days)
Lowe'sOriginal receipt; Lowe's doesn't mention gift receiptsNot accepted without proof of purchase (lookup by order, card, phone or MyLowe's)Original payment; in-store credit if paid by gift cardPicture ID may be requiredNone stated (Christmas items: by Dec 25)
AppleApple Gift CardNot described in Apple's policy; ask the giver for a gift receiptApple Gift CardTurn off Activation Lock firstNot posted yet
TJ MaxxMerchandise creditMerchandise creditMerchandise creditGovernment photo ID, name, address and signatureBought Oct 4–Dec 24 → Jan 25, 2027 (stores) / Feb 4, 2027 (online)

How gift receipts work

Returning a gift with no receipt

Extended holiday return windows by store (2026)

For more stores, including JCPenney, Crate & Barrel, Marshalls and Nordstrom Rack, see holiday return deadlines 2026.

The short windows that catch gift recipients

Example dates add calendar days to Dec 15, 2026 (Dec 16 is day 1). If a store counts the purchase day itself as day 1, the deadline is a day earlier. Each store says whether the clock starts at purchase or at delivery; for a gift, that's when the giver bought it or it arrived, not when you opened it. Go by the date on the gift receipt or order.

Gift card refunds: what you get back

Gifts bought on Black Friday or Cyber Monday

A gift bought Nov 27 or Nov 30, 2026 is on the giver's clock from that date. Check the store's Black Friday deadline before you wait until after Christmas:

Returning an Amazon gift

Enter the 17-digit order number from the packing slip or gift receipt email in Amazon's Gift Returns Center (sign-in required). Your credit arrives as an Amazon.com Gift Card after Amazon receives the item. Full steps: Amazon gift return without a receipt. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Giving gifts this year? Tuck the gift receipts somewhere you'll find them in January. A simple receipt organizer from Amazon works, or photograph each one.

Can I return a Christmas gift without a receipt?

At most big stores, yes, but you'll usually get store credit or a gift card, not cash. Walmart gives a Walmart Gift Card with government photo ID, Target a merchandise return card with ID, Kohl's Merchandise Credit at the lowest 13-week sale price, Macy's store credit at the lowest selling price in the last 90 days, Home Depot store credit at the lowest advertised price with photo ID, and TJ Maxx merchandise credit with photo ID. Lowe's doesn't accept returns without proof of purchase, though it can look the sale up. Checked against official policies Oct 21, 2026.

Which stores have extended holiday return windows in 2026?

Of the 11 stores in this guide, four have posted 2026 holiday extensions (checked Oct 21, 2026). Walmart: most items bought Oct 1–Dec 31 returnable until Jan 31, 2027. Kohl's: purchases Oct 4–Dec 30, 2026, including electronics, watches, jewelry and mattresses, through Jan 31, 2027. Macy's: most merchandise bought Oct 5–Dec 31, 2026 until Jan 31, 2027. TJ Maxx: purchases Oct 4–Dec 24, 2026 through Jan 25, 2027 in stores and Feb 4, 2027 online. Amazon, Target, Best Buy and Apple haven't posted 2026 dates. Costco, Home Depot and Lowe's state no extension.

Do I get cash back if I return a gift?

Rarely. With a gift receipt, stores give the recipient credit: an Amazon.com Gift Card, a Target GiftCard, a Walmart Gift Card, an Apple Gift Card, or store or merchandise credit at Best Buy, Macy's, Home Depot and TJ Maxx. A cash or card refund normally goes back to the original payment method, which belongs to the person who bought the gift.

When does the return window start for a gift?

When the giver bought it, or when it was delivered at stores that count from delivery (Amazon, Apple, Best Buy, Target.com). It doesn't start when you open the gift. That's why short windows bite: a Best Buy gift received by the buyer on Dec 15, 2026 is due back by Dec 30, 2026, and an Apple gift by Dec 29.

Store-by-store gift return guides

Sources (official policies, checked 2026-10-21): Amazon · Walmart · Target · Best Buy · Costco · Kohl's · Macy's · Home Depot · Lowe's · Apple · TJ Maxx. Policies change and stores can make exceptions, so confirm with the store before you go.

Get return-policy changes in your inbox

A short weekly email when major stores change their return rules. Free, unsubscribe anytime.