Holiday return deadlines 2026
Short answer: 7 stores we verified state a 2026 holiday return extension on their official pages. Most deadlines fall in late January 2027 (JCPenney, Kohl's, Macy's DoorDash orders: Jan 31; Victoria's Secret: Jan 30; TJ Maxx and Marshalls in store: Jan 25; Nordstrom Rack: Jan 18). The latest is TJ Maxx online: Feb 4, 2027. Everywhere else, assume the standard window applies.
Stores with a stated 2026 holiday extension
Tap a column heading to sort.
| Store | Purchased | Return by | Source | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JCPenney | Purchases on or after Oct 1, 2026 With original or gift receipt | Jan 31, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| Kohl's | Kohl's merchandise bought Oct 4–Dec 30, 2026 | Jan 31, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| Kohl's | Sephora at Kohl's bought Oct 30–Dec 30, 2026 | Jan 31, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| Macy's | DoorDash orders Oct 5–Dec 31, 2026 Macy's DoorDash orders only; check Macy's Extended Holiday Return Policy page for other dates | Jan 31, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| Marshalls | In-store purchases Oct 4–Dec 24, 2026 | Jan 25, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| Nordstrom Rack | Eligible purchases Oct 5–Dec 24, 2026 | Jan 18, 2027 (or 40 days after purchase, whichever is later) | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| TJ Maxx | In-store purchases Oct 4–Dec 24, 2026 | Jan 25, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| TJ Maxx | Online purchases Oct 4–Dec 24, 2026 | Feb 4, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
| Victoria's Secret | Purchases Oct 28–Dec 24, 2026 | Jan 30, 2027 | Official | 2026-10-14 |
Unclear or outdated holiday info
- Wayfair: Items bought Nov 1–Dec 31 (except appliances) returnable until Jan 31 — Wayfair's page does not state the year. (official page)
- HomeGoods: Stale: page still shows 2025 dates (Oct 5–Dec 24, 2025 → Jan 24, 2026). 2026 dates not posted. (official page)
- Target: Holiday and limited-time collections may have modified return policies—check the receipt/item description. (official page)
Shorter windows for holiday decor and seasonal items
- Lowe's: Christmas and Halloween items must be returned on or before the holiday; post-holiday purchases are final sale.
- Best Buy: Halloween/Christmas decoration categories: 15 days, even for members.
- Walgreens: Seasonal products are listed as non-returnable.
- Michaels: Online-only costumes must be returned 7 days before the holiday.
No 2026 holiday extension stated (standard window applies)
These stores' official pages, as we checked them, don't state a 2026 holiday extension. Some may announce one later.
- Adidas: Online purchases: full refund within 30 days of receipt
- ALDI: Not stated
- Amazon: 30 days of delivery for most items in original/unused condition (check product page / Order History for eligibility)
- Apple: 14 calendar days from the date you received the item (Apple Store / Apple online purchases only)
- AutoZone: Not stated on the FAQ page (refers to Terms and Conditions)
- Banana Republic: 30 days from purchase (store) or delivery (online)
- Bath & Body Works: 100% satisfaction guarantee; with receipt, original-tender refund within 90 days, merchandise credit after
- Bed Bath & Beyond: Start within 30 days of delivery; item must arrive within 45 days of receipt
- BJ's Wholesale: 365 days for most items, new condition with accessories
- Chewy: 365 days of purchase, free return shipping
- Costco: Risk-Free 100% Satisfaction Guarantee on merchandise with exceptions; many electronics limited to 90 days from receipt
- CVS: Most new, unopened nonprescription items: 60 days to any CVS Pharmacy (or by mail for CVS.com with Customer Care)
- Dick's Sporting Goods: 90 days (in-store from purchase; online from original shipment) for most products; Warehouse and Going, Going, Gone! locations: 30 days
- Dillard's: 30 calendar days from purchase (unless the receipt or point-of-sale notice states otherwise)
- eBay: Set by each seller; eBay Money Back Guarantee covers items that don't arrive or don't match the listing
- Etsy: Set by each seller; Etsy Purchase Protection cases can be opened for 30 days once eligible
- GameStop: New unopened: 15 days; pre-owned: 7 days; PCs/laptops/TVs/monitors: 7 days
- Gap: 30 days from purchase (store) or delivery (online)
- H&M: 30 days
- Hobby Lobby: 90 days with original receipt (in-store purchases)
- Home Depot: Most new, unopened merchandise: 90 days; Home Depot credit/commercial accounts often 365 days (exceptions apply)
- IKEA: 365 days for new unopened products; 180 days for open products—with proof of purchase
- J.Crew: 30 days of original purchase, with proof of purchase
- Kroger: 30 days from purchase (any Kroger Co. Family of Stores location)
- Lululemon: 30 days (online from delivery, store from purchase)
- Nike: 60 days from online order delivery or Nike store purchase (some exceptions)
- Nordstrom: No fixed window stated—Nordstrom says it handles returns case by case
- Office Depot: Office supplies 90 days; ink & toner 30 days; tech, furniture, software 14 days
- Old Navy: 30 days from delivery (online) or purchase (in-store); Final Sale excluded
- Petco: 60 days: full refund within 30 days, merchandise credit days 31–60
- PetSmart: Receipts valid for 60 days
- Publix: No time limit stated on the Refund Policy page
- REI: Members: 365 days; non-members: 90 days (from purchase)
- Ross: 30 days with receipt for a refund; older receipts → exchange or store credit
- Sam's Club: Most items: any time (100% Satisfaction Guarantee, current members)
- Sephora: 30 days for new or gently used products with proof of purchase (policy effective for purchases on/after April 24, 2025; page last updated Sept 2, 2026)
- SHEIN: 30 days from delivery for most items (third-party sellers may differ)
- Staples: Office supplies: any time; technology & furniture: 14 days
- Temu: 90 days from purchase (electronics 45/60/90 days by seller)
- Trader Joe's: Not stated on the official FAQ page we loaded
- Ulta: 30 days for refund to original payment; days 31–60 merchandise credit (new or gently used, original components)
- Uniqlo: 30 days (online: from shipping date; store: from purchase date)
- Walmart: 90 days for most Walmart-sold items (exceptions apply)
- Whole Foods: 30 days from purchase; proof of purchase required
- Zara: 30 days (online: from shipment date; store: from purchase date)
Stores marked "needs verification" (e.g. Dollar General) aren't listed. All dates come from official policy pages last checked 2026-10-14—confirm before you shop.
Which stores have extended holiday returns in 2026?
Official pages we checked state 2026 holiday extensions for JCPenney, Kohl's (including Sephora at Kohl's), Macy's DoorDash orders, Marshalls, Nordstrom Rack, TJ Maxx, and Victoria's Secret. Most run through late January 2027; TJ Maxx online purchases run through Feb 4, 2027.
What is the latest 2026 holiday return deadline?
Among stores we verified, TJ Maxx online purchases made Oct 4–Dec 24, 2026 have the latest stated deadline: Feb 4, 2027.
Can I return Christmas decorations after the holiday?
At Lowe's, Christmas and Halloween items must be returned on or before the holiday, and post-holiday purchases are final sale. Best Buy limits holiday decoration categories to 15 days.